Painting A Pair Of Skis: Design

Step 2: Design

So what I am looking for with this projcet is a professional look.  I want people to look at the skis and say “wow, where did you get those skis? They are awesome.”  Not, “wow, cool….you paint those yourself?”  In order to achieve this I needed to come up with a cool design that was intricate enough to look amazing but still keeps it in the realm of reality.

After talking with a design friend of mine I found out that I needed to create the design on Adobe Illustrator.  Well as it turns out Adobe likes money and they want you to give them some to use their stuff.  This concept is great if you are Adobe, not so great if you are me.  Lucky for me Adobe lets you use their software for free for 30 days.  Plenty of time for me to get what I need out of it.  Que up about 3 straight days of teaching myself how to use a fairly complicated design program. These days consisted of quite a few youtube turorials, google searches looking like “how to draw a curved line on adobe”, and of course much more of the perverbial brick wall head bashing I discussed earlier.  In the end I pulled it off and came up a few options.

Design 1:

Design 2:

Design 3:

Design 4:

In the end I decieded to go with design 4.  I liked Design 2 the best but in an attempt to make the project a little easier I went with the straight lines of design 4.  If my later to be described method of using contact paper does not work then with this design I will at least be able to use painters tape to do the entire thing.  This also reduces the number of colors I have to use down to 3, making the project a little cheaper and easier.  I think it looks good.  Now if I can just make the end product look like that.

The last thing I needed to do was print out a life size version of the design so I can later trace it onto the skis.  This involved printing out about 20 or so pages and then taping them together.

IMAG0061

With the design phase complete it is time to start getting to it.

About Scott Zarse

I am a Firefighter for the Dallas Fire Department, I have been married for three years, no kids yet. Loving life here in Dallas.
This entry was posted in Painting Snow Skis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

