A Christmas Project

I have an ideaA little insight into the mind of Scott Zarse.  Once I get an idea into my head that I like, I can’t stop thinking about it until I do it.  In this way I have spurratic bursts of OCD.  Maybe it is making a giant 4-wheeler powered slip and slide jump, creating a boat powered pulley swing, sending a Zarse made object into space, or my most recent whim: custom painting a pair of skis.

This story starts over Thanksgiving break.  We were up in Tulsa for the holiday and I was out getting some breakfast with some friends.  On my way home I decided to run by Sun and Ski and see if they were having any black Friday sales.  Well it turns out they were.  I found a pair of womens skis that were on sale 3 different times making them 95 bucks.  It was too good of a deal to pass up.  So I snatched up the skis for a Christmas present for my wife.  I figured we spend about that on rentals every year so if she didn’t like the skis we could throw them away and still come out even.  In order to keep this great Christmas deal from her until Christmas I ran the skis over to Andrea’s house.  Andrea and Nate were visiting her parents as well and would be going back to Dallas.   Nate also had a truck so he would be able to transport the skis for me.  Brilliant idea if you ask me.  Well all went well until we decieded to meet up with our friends for dinner on the way back home.  Nate arrives early to the restaurant (a high class establishment known as Braums) and decides that he should take the skis out of the bed of the truck so Steph doesn’t see them.  Well the timing of this procedure couldn’t be any worse and Steph sees the skis just as we pull up.  Andrea starts to try to come up with a cover story and I have zero faith in her ability to pull off a lie so I throw in the towel and tell her they are her Christmas present.  Dang.  Failure.  My wife does love suprises.  Then I keep thinking about the situation.  What does my wife love more than surprises?  The color purple.  That is right, she absolutly loves the color purple.  She can’t get enough of it.  The skis I bought are very…not purple.  Well here is where my brain took off.  The infamous Zarse line “I bet I can do that” showed up once more.  That is when I decided I would surprise her with her own custom painted purple skis for Christmas.  Bam.  Here we go.  So starts my next Zarse Effect series.  How to custom paint a pair of snow skis.  We will see if I can pull off The Zarse Effect one more time.

Reader:  I am writing these posts as I progress through the project but will obviously not post them until after Christmas. This is why they will be written in the present tense but as you are reading them they are past tense events.  Got it?  Good.

About Scott Zarse

I am a Firefighter for the Dallas Fire Department, I have been married for three years, no kids yet. Loving life here in Dallas.
This entry was posted in Painting Snow Skis and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment